Philippine Standard Time:


The National Water Resources Board (NWRB) and Maynilad Water Service, Inc. (MWSI) organized the World Water Day 2018 Awards held last March 22, 2018 at Novotel, Araneta Center, Cubao, Quezon City. The event was participated by the different WWD.Ph partner agencies, bureaus and offices.

As the yearly culminating event for the Philippine celebration of World Water Day, key water and environment agencies confer awards that aim to promote each sponsoring organization’s mandate and advocacy, strengthen collaboration with external stakeholders, and espouse the importance of orchestrating efforts for maximum gains.
The WWD Awards is a platform for honoring champions for water and the environment- individuals, institutions and programs that made strides in achieving water and water-environment sustainability in the Philippines.

Eighteen (18) awardees for this year’s World Water Day culminating activity bagged the prestigious WWD Trophy that depicts and signifies the bond of the environment and people and in line with the 2018 theme, Nature for Water. One of the said awardees was Senator Cynthia Villar, the Managing Director of the Villar-Sipag Foundation that promotes environmental technology and sustainability which includes the poor and underprivileged; overseas Filipino workers and their families; the youth; women; the church; the environment among others as partners for their programs and livelihood projects.

The Undersecretary for Manila Bay and Related Water Concerns, Atty. Maria Paz Luna delivered the keynote of the DENR Secretary in his behalf. Part of the message point up on the issue on Boracay and other water-related issues of the country that encouraged the awardees and the participants to take a leap on their own action towards conservation and protection of the environment.

The highlight of the event was the signing and launching of the International Decade for Action: Water for Sustainable Development 2018-2028 as part of the Sustainable Development Goal 6 initiated by Dir. Jose Tayawa of the Philippine Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Dir. Rolyn Q. Zambalez of DILG, USEC Maria Paz Luna of DENR and Dir. Rosemarie B. Del Rosario of DPWH in the presence of Senator Cynthia Villar, Dir. Sevillo David, Jr. of NWRB, Dir. Antonio M. Daño of RBCO and CEO Ramoncito Vernandez of Maynilad. This activity ensures the joint involvement of the concerned agencies/institutions in the protection, conservation and proper management of the country’s water resources.
Meanwhile, Dir. David, Jr. commended the 2018 Awardees for their significant support to the water sustainability of the country and acknowledged the continuous support of the World Water Day partner agencies and offices in the different conducted activities.